On 25 May 2020, George Floyd was murdered in Minneapolis by four on-duty police officers. The video of George Floyd slowly but surely losing his life over 9 minutes and 29 seconds as bystanders begged the officers to stop rocketed around the world.

Minnesota Attorney-General Keith Ellison assembled a team to prosecute the most famous murder of the modern era. The team needed to cope with the tremendous pressure arising from the notoriety of the case, the race issues involved, and the impact the verdict might have on public safety across the United States.

To obtain a conviction, prosecutors had to prove not only that the assault that the officers committed against George Floyd was a substantial causal factor in his death but also that it was unreasonable from the perspective of a reasonable police officer to use such force. A team was assembled by Keith Ellison, including senior prosecutors from within his office as well as current and former prosecutors working elsewhere, and also a paralegal and victim services manager.

After months of preparation, the team was ready to prosecute the first officer, Derek Chauvin, who was found guilty by the jury on charges of seconddegree murder and second-degree manslaughter on 20 April 2021. On 18 May 2022, defendant Thomas Lane pleaded guilty to the charge of seconddegree manslaughter. On 24 October 2022, defendant J. Alexander Kueng also pleaded guilty to the charge of second-degree manslaughter, and the remaining defendant Tou Thao agreed to a stipulated bench trial on the charge of second-degree manslaughter for which a verdict was rendered in April 2023.

The IAP congratulates the team and awards it a Special Achievement Award in respect of their prosecution of this case.

The team members are:

Minnesota Attorney General's Office

Attorney General Keith Ellison Deputy Attorney General David Voigt Assistant Attorney General Matthew Frank Assistant Attorney General Erin Eldridge Assistant Attorney General Zuri Balmakund Santiago Assistant Attorney General Eric Miller Former Assistant Attorney General Natasha Robinson (now in private practice) Paralegal Dionne Dodd Legal Assistant Jillian Sully

Hogan Lovells

Partner and former Deputy and Acting United States Solicitor General Neal Katyal, named a Special Assistant Minnesota Attorney General Sundeep Iyer Nathaniel Zelinsky Danielle Stempel Victoria Joseph Harrison Kilgore Johannah Walker Dana Raphael Patrick Valencia Darryl Williams

Blackwell Burke

Former Founder and CEO Jerry Blackwell, named a Special Assistant Minnesota Attorney General (now a United States District Court judge) Paralegal Desweon Hinds Partner G. Tony Atwal Partner Corey Gordon Partner Mary Young

Hennepin County Attorney's Office

Former County Attorney Michael O. Freeman (now retired) Former Assistant County Attorney Jean Burdorf (now a Hennepin County Court judge) Assistant County Attorney Joshua Larson Manager of Victim Services Vernona Boswell

Maslon LLP

Partner Steven Scheicher, named a Special Assistant Minnesota Attorney General

Medtronic

Lead Counsel Lola Velazquez-Aguilu, named a Special Assistant Minnesota Attorney General

