Kampala Agreement

IAP Constitution 8.3

The Executive Committee shall consist of the President, the Vice-Presidents, the Secretary-General and the General Counsel and, in addition, no fewer than 10 and no more than 21 other ordinary members. The membership of the Executive Committee shall reflect, as far as is reasonably possible, the regions of the world in which the Association has members. Members of the Executive Committee shall be appointed by the General Meeting and are so appointed in a personal capacity. They shall serve for three years ending at the end of the General meeting in the year in which their term of office expires. No member of the Executive Committee may remain in office should he/she cease to be a member of the Association. Members of the Executive Committee are eligible for reappointment.

Kampala agreement

 [extract from the minutes]:

"The General Counsel presented a paper on the future composition of the Executive Committee. The bulk of the paper was accepted, including agreement that:

  • The size of the Executive Committee should not be increased on a permanent basis.
  • The Constitution should not be changed to provide for temporary members of the Executive Committee.
  • Members of the IAP who would like to join the Executive Committee when no suitable vacancies exist should be encouraged to assist in the workings of the Committee until a vacancy arises.
  • There should be a target of having 30% (9) women members within six years.
  • In future incoming members of the Executive Committee should serve no more than two terms as a member, two terms as a Vice-President and two terms as President. This would not apply to existing members.
  • The balance between members representing associations of prosecutors and prosecution services should reflect the balance in the membership as it currently did.
  • An article would be published in the next edition of the Newsletter setting out some of the key messages which the Committee wished to convey in relation to this subject”